M.I.A. and Diplo Reunite for “Bird Song”

Artist M.I.A. just released a new version of her song “Bird Song” that was produced by Diplo. The track’s off her forthcoming album A.I.M out September 9th via Interscope. Previously, M.I.A. criticized her label via Twitter, claiming they were blocking the release of Diplo’s version. M.I.A. stated that the issue had been resolved in a Periscope broadcast.  The first version of “Bird Song” was produced by Blaqstarr and was released earlier this month, both versions of the song will appear on the album as stated by a new tracklist. 

Here’s Diplo’s version:

Here’s Blaqstarr’s version:

Aside from these two producers, Skrillex will also make an appearance on the album on the song “Go Off” and M.I.A. recently announced a collaboration with Zayn Malik on the song “Freedun.” According to the artist, A.I.M will be M.I.A.’s last album. The controversial artist was recently removed as the headliner for the Afro-Punk London festival after a series of anti-black comments on Twitter and replaced with the amazing Grace Jones.  Though she’s problematic, I do enjoy M.I.A.’s music and I look forward to listening to A.I.M.

(Via Pitchfork.com)

Leave a Reply

