Uncanny Pop Interviews Theatrical Scamp Rock Band Fable Cry

Snark

Earlier this month, we featured the theatrical scamp rock band from Nashville Fable Cry in our Indie Artist Spotlight. Today we’re posting our interview with the band. Check it out below:

UP: What are your fondest musical memories? 

FC: The best moments for me are any time where I think I’ve made a breakthrough, be it in my playing, performing, or writing.  There are several instances that I’ve had in my life that stand out to me in a particular way and they have usually come with no warning, but in those moments I feel I’ve grown a little bit more.  Like most things, you learn so gradually that it’s difficult to tell how much or even if you’ve improved at that thing you’re doing.  Then you try doing something that you could never do and suddenly you can do it!  The first time I wrote a song was like that.  The first time I realized that I could sing in front of people without being terrified, I felt that.  The first time I realized I could connect with a crowd.  I feel that feeling after writing certain songs that I think I couldn’t have written a week prior.  It’s just a great feeling.  It’s when you realize that all of the hard work and effort that you put into your craft is actually worth it.  Baby steps, baby!
UP: When and why did you start playing?
FC: I started playing guitar seriously when I was 11.  I grew up listening to my parents singing and playing John Denver, Gordon Lightfoot, The Carpenters, Jim Croce and others, including their own tunes, my whole life and I think it was inevitable.  When my big brother picked up the electric guitar my dad taught me all of the folk he knew, and my brother showed me all of the rock he knew.  They got tired of me constantly playing their guitars so I got my first at age 12 and you couldn’t get it out of my hands – I was hooked!   Over the next several years I would pick up the bass, drums, accordion, banjo, and anything else I could get my hands on.  I started working at a local music shop at 16 and my addiction got more serious… and accessible.
UP: What was the first tune(s) you learned?
FC: Greensleeves and Smells Like Teen Spirit.  My eclectic playing started pretty early on.
UP: What play got you interested in theater? 
FC: It started many moons ago at the Nashville Children’s Theater.  It is a theater group here in Nashville with a mostly adult cast that does plays aimed at kids, but they are sure not to talk down to kids.  They realize how intelligent kids are and yes falling down is hilarious and kissing is gross, but the plays are great quality and people of all ages can gain things from them – whatever your opinions are on falling and kissing.  Growing up, I was home-schooled, and the Nashville Children’s Theater became one of many field trip destinations.  Beauty and the Beast was the first play I saw there and the next few seasons got me more and more into it.  I just loved how much went into the performances.  How immersed you could feel in this completely made up world that made you forget it’s a play – and then when you remember it’s a play again you wonder how they do it!  And my curiosity grew…
UP: Were you influenced by old records & tapes? If so which ones? 
FC: One of the first tapes I had that was mine was “Weird Al” Yankovic’s Alapalooza album.  I think that’s where my love for the accordion began.  
 
UP: Which musicians do you admire and which ones have you learned from?
FC: I get inspired by everyone I enjoy, really, and really try to learn from what I like.  I love Queen’s ability to write musically complex arrangements that are both catchy, pleasing to listen to, AND impressive.  Tom Wait’s knack for telling a story through images.  Foxy Shazam’s insanity on stage that is pure, unrelenting energy.  Danny Kaye’s quick tongued word play and his ability to connect with an audience so sincerely.  The list goes on.
UP: What artists are you currently listening to?  
FC: Most recently added albums to my playlist:
“Easy Come Easy Go” – Marianne Faithfull
“Punk Goes Pop” – Various Artists
“They Can’t All Be Zingers” – Primus
UP: What inspires you to write and when did you begin writing?
FC: I like writing whimsical songs wrapped in metaphor.   Most of the songs that I write have personal meaning to them, even the ones that just seem like silly songs about silly characters – maybe even especially those songs ha.  I began writing basically as soon as I started playing guitar, but it took me years to really feel comfortable with it.  I had so many stories to tell, though, I really wanted to work at it until I could do it.  I like what I do now, but I still have a long way to go.
UP: What’s the best thing about being a musician and what’s the hardest?
FC: The best thing is being able to express yourself freely in an art form that is easy to connect to.  Nearly everyone listens to music.  The hardest thing is being able to express yourself freely in an art form that is easy to connect to.  Nearly everyone listens to music.  It’s an over-saturated market and difficult to be heard.
UP: What inspired this album and what was the creative process?
FC: About two years ago (while we were still touring on the first album, but beginning to dabble with some new songs) I found myself listening to other music and feeling hungry.  I listen to music constantly and all types and decades and there are so many elements I enjoy, but I couldn’t find a band that encompassed all of it.  So, this album was an attempt at creating an amalgamation of my favorite elements of music.  I wanted it to be catchy and danceable.  I wanted it to be spooky and whimsical.  I wanted there to be breakdowns.  I wanted it to be emotional – happy, distraught, scared, party (yes, party).  Our goal for this band has always been to be our favorite band, and play things that we would want to hear, and put on shows that we would want to see, etc.  Since we are fairly picky with what we like it helps to hold ourselves to a certain standard.  If I write a song and feel that it could be better, I will rework it until it is the best it can be.  The rest of the band holds me to this as well – all of us do – and we won’t hesitate to tell each other that we could do better.
UP: What future goals do you hope to achieve with your music? What type of future projects that would like to do?  
FC: We want to travel the world creating enormous stage shows for all to see.  We want to transport people into our world of dark whimsy.  We have so much music to make, videos, productions, and art.  This really is only the beginning for Fable Cry.
UP: How does music affect you and the world around you?  
FC: It is one of the most polarizing art forms for people.  Music has always been my favorite therapy.  It has the natural power to enhance emotion better than anything I’ve found.  Sometimes I need a lift out of an emotional funk.  There is music for that.  Sometimes I need to wallow in it and feel sad or angry.  There is music for that too.  I know that I am not the only one who feels this way.  It really is like a religion in many ways.  Everyone has their own personal relationship to it, yet dozens, hundreds, thousands of people can come together and unite and share in their love for it – provided they follow the same “sect” of music ha.  When someone tells me that our music has helped them through a hard time, or that they love the feeling it gives them when they hear it, it is the most gratifying thing.  It’s really why we (and I think most musicians and artists) do it.  We want to share what we do with an audience that wants it too.

Check out Fable Cry’s website and follow them on these social media sites:

Facebook

Twitter

YouTube

3 thoughts on “Uncanny Pop Interviews Theatrical Scamp Rock Band Fable Cry

Leave a Reply

