#31DaysofWomenMakingHistory, First Look: Serena Williams on the cover of Vogue Magazine

SERENA

Doesn’t she look fantastic? Tennis star Serena Williams is on the April cover of Vogue magazine for the second time-the first was with fellow OlympiansRyan Lochte & Hope Solo-but the first time by herself, and she looks marvelous, with her natural hair and classically beautiful self.

In the magazine the tennis star with 19 major tournament wins under her belt is profiled about her friendship with fellow tennis pro Caroline Wozniacki, whom despite being very competive very close. The article also discusses Williams approach to the game: “On the court, I am fierce! I am mean and I am tough. I am completely opposite off the court. My confidence just isn’t the same. I wish I was more like I am on the court. Nobody would know that I am constantly crying or complaining,” she says.

The cover coincides with William’s decision to exit the exit the Indian Wells tournament due to a knee injury. Williams made her return to the tournament after a 13 year boycott, after her sister Venus withdrew from the tournament in 2001, Serena and her father were booed and assailed with racial epithets.

You can read the full Vogue article here.

Leave a Reply

